Malevolent Delight

Bullies enjoy the sense of power, superiority, and sadistic pleasure they derive from abusing others. That’s why they do it. The characteristic malevolent delight is evident in this email from Megan Somerville-Loomis, previous president of the board of directors of artEAST, to Jamie McKay, and accidentally sent also to me:


From:
Megan Somerville-Loomis
<presidentarteastboard@gmail.com>

Date: March 26, 2014 at 15:28:39 PDT
Cc: Jamie McKay <jamiej@strikingart.com>
Subject: Re: Misunderstandings

Well not I got it!  I hate feeling left out, tee he

Sounding more like a gloating high school bully than the president of a reputable art organization, she says that she hates “feeling left out,” but apparently, she is delighted to belong to a gang of bullies abusing and ostracizing one individual.

Bullies are not interested in conflict resolution. My email offering to help clear misunderstandings and resolve problems, below, was rudely ignored.

On Tue, Mar 25, 2014, [Victim] wrote:

Megan and Jamie,

Almost 8 months since the decision was made to terminate my membership, and about 5 months since I found out about it, I received a letter undersigned “artEAST board of directors.” As you probably know, the letter states that other members have implicated me for feeling confused, intimidated, and even threatened, and that these reports are the reason why the board feels I should be banned from artEAST.

The explanation comes as a surprise because I have not bullied or threatened anyone and I am sure that any feelings of that nature can be attributed to misunderstandings. The best course of action when misinformation or misunderstandings are involved is to sit down and talk it over. I would be happy to participate in a respectful conversation with the affected, aimed at clearing up misperceptions. Please arrange a meeting so we can get this resolved. My schedule is fairly open this week and the next.

Looking forward to your reply,

stonewalling

Comment: